Although workplace injuries are tragic, many employees in the United States
can recover due to benefits recovered under workers’ compensation.
In fact, thousands of Americans file workers’ compensation claims
every day; in 2013 alone, workers received $6.5 trillion for payroll coverage.
While workers’ compensation is a lifesaver for hundreds of thousands
of Americans, what happens when workers
don’t receive their money?
Understanding Georgia Workers’ Compensation Laws
Georgia outlines employees’ rights under workers’ compensation
Georgia State Board of Workers’ Compensation Employee Handbook. The last right listed states that “if you do not receive benefits
when due, the insurance carrier/employer must pay a penalty which is added
to your payments.” The State Board
clearly states that workers’ compensation claims should be paid on time.
When an employer or insurance carrier fails to pay out claims promptly,
it can severely hinder peoples’ lives.
What Are You Entitled to When Payments Are Late?
Under Georgia law, you are entitled to a 15% penalty for late payment of
weekly income benefits for disability. With regard to medical payments:
Between 30 to 60 Days: Additional 10% of the amount due
Between 61 & 90 Days: Additional 20% of the amount due
After 90 Days: Additional 20% of the amount due and 12% interest on the total sum per
annum until the full amount is paid by the employer or insurer
How Do You Secure Your Late Payments?
The best way to ensure that you receive your payments is to hire a Georgia
workers’ compensation lawyer. If you need help with your claims,
Douglas F. Kaleita P.C. is on your side. With more than 25 years of workers’
compensation experience, he can assist you in obtaining your payments on time.
Call 888-665-7699 to obtain your free consultation concerning your claim